Getting Noticed

A few days ago one of my best friends John wrote asking whether we, as light-skinned, fair-haired people have received much attention in this land of dark-skinned, dark-skinned people.  This is what I wrote:

“Yeah, people stare.  Redheads are even rarer than blondes, but I like the attention of course.  In the last five days, a girl interrupted a conversation I was having to take a photo with me and put both her arms around my waist, an old woman on a bus almost tried to kiss me, and a 17-year-old asked me for my phone number.  All with CeCe sitting right there!”

It reached a new level yesterday.  We were biking through the streets of Savannakhet, Laos, where we’ve spent the last five days, when we heard a deep voice call out to us in Lao.  Thang, the Lao student we were biking with told CeCe what he had heard:  “Over there that she-man wants to talk to Mark.  You know? You know? She-man?… She-man?”  CeCe almost fell off her bike.

Our friend Thipphako tells us they’re also known as lady-boys.

Meanwhile, a cute Lao girl sitting next to us is waging big bucks in some card game online.   There’s even a video feed of the dealer.  I like this place.

Leave a Reply

