… And We’re Back

You may have been wondering where we’d disappeared to and why we hadn’t been blogging. Or at least, that’s what I keep telling myself. Well, we’ve been busy, sort of. And we’ve been traveling a lot, but what else is new. The truth is, we’re tired. Really tired.

We’ve hit a traveling wall and are doing our best to work through it. In the past few weeks, both Mark and I have had a “I’m sick of this and it’s time to go home” moment.  Somehow Mark managed not to burst into tears like I did, twice. Luckily, both times the other person was in a better spot and we carried on.

We have just arrived on the island of Zanzibar in Tanzania after being in Uganda for over a month. We were visiting Mark’s elementary school friend Beth, whom Mark had reconnected with on Facebook. I volunteered at the Jane Goodall Institute, where Beth has been interning for the past four months. Mark got to volunteer on an organic farm. It was nice to be in the same place for a while and have something constructive to do.  At the end of our Ugandan visit, I found it a chore to plan the rest of this journey.

Some of you may be rolling your eyes and thinking I should be more grateful for being able to do what we’re doing. I know I’m ridiculously lucky to be traveling for a year. I’m reminded of how lucky I am every single day.

But it’ll be nice to not have to haggle with someone just so I can go grab some lunch. I’m also looking forward to sleeping in the same bed – my bed – for more than a few nights in a row. And a bowl of cereal for dinner in front of the TV would be nice too. Plus the one pair of pants I brought are suddenly rebelling. I reinforced the seam in the seat and sewed the rear pockets back on while in Indonesia, but now the crotch seam is failing (looks like I’ll be sewing tonight) and I had to fix a tear in the leg with my tent repair kit. No longer will the cute bracelet and jaunty earrings I bought in Kampala cover the fact that I look like a dirty backpacker. I think it’s a sign that the end of the trip is near.

So that’s our excuse for not writing- travel fatigue. However, we have had some pretty exciting experiences while in Uganda and now that we’re here in Zanzibar for a rest, we’ll be able to type them out and get them online.

We’ve got 5 more weeks until we return home to the States. Still on the list after Zanzibar are Lamu in Kenya and a few weeks in Ethiopia. Hopefully, our R&R here in the spice islands will give us the second (or twelfth) wind we need to make the most of the rest of our trip.

Thanks for sticking with us!

2 responses to “… And We’re Back

  1. ps: is it a point of honor to wear the same pair of pants to the end? Getting a new pair might help your spirits immensely! You could always turn the old ones into something else…

  2. Hi Mark and Cece,

    I hope you are able to get your second (or third or fourth) wind and finish your year in high spirits — of course, you are lucky — but tired is tired, and cereal in front of the tv is an understandable desire at this point! I will be thinking of you and keeping you both in my prayers — and looking forward to seeing you face to face in not too long a time!

    Much love,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

