Political Commentary

We received this one yuan note as change this morning.

It was handed to us in a crumpled ball with seven others by a harried noodle shop owner.  I doubt he even noticed.  Pictures of Mao still grace school offices, public buildings and the occasional shop.  There’s no real way to tell how widely held anti-Mao sentiments are, but this is the first sign we’ve seen of political dissent.

So what do I do?  Do I spend the note in question and pass the message along?  Or do I keep it as a memento?  It’s worth about $.15.  Please chime in in the comments section.

As I write, this CeCe is napping.  She has good old ‘Dehli belly’.   Just a few days before her birthday too.   We have a fun few days of events planned so I hope she recovers.  I’ll blog more about our weekend in a few days.  In the meantime, please don’t forget to email her on Saturday.

4 responses to “Political Commentary

  1. Mark, keep it. Will be a great momento of your trip. Someday your kids will get a kick out of it–and you can always sell it on eBay for a pretty sum.
    cheers
    Charley

  2. Great souvenir, especially years from now looking back.

  3. I think I would be careful where I tried to spend it, if I were you! Maybe just keep it… Spare yourself further notice in a town where I’m sure you already stand out just a wee bit!! 🙂 Feel better, Sassy!

Leave a Reply

